Windsock Mitt: What Choice? Multiple Choice?

Multiple Choice Mitt is back today, with a position on abortion which lasted all of about an hour. The following is a collection of quotations from various sources going back to 1994 on Governor Romney’s many versions of his story:

“I believe that abortion should be safe and legal in this country; I have since the time that my mom took that position when she ran in 1970 as a U.S. Senate candidate.” His comments, made during a candidate debate, are unequivocal: “I believe that since Roe v. Wade has been the law for 20 years, that we should sustain and support it.”  1994

“I will preserve and protect a woman’s right to choose, and am devoted and dedicated to honoring my word in that regard.” He assured voters, “I will not change any provisions of Massachusetts’ pro-choice laws.” 2002

“And every action I’ve taken as governor of Massachusetts has been pro-life. This is a very difficult decision. We’re involved in the lives of two people: a mom and an unborn child. And yet I’ve come down on the side of saying I’m in favor of life.”  2007

“”My position has been clear throughout this campaign,” Romney said. “I’m in favor of abortion being legal in the case of rape and incest, and the health and life of the mother.” August 27, 2012

Those things I think are consistent with my pro-life position. And I hope to appoint justices for the Supreme Court that will follow the law and the constitution. And it would be my preference that they reverse Roe V. Wade and therefore they return to the people and their elected representatives the decisions with regards to this important issue. September 9, 2012

“Mitt Romney today said no abortion legislation is part of his agenda, but he would prohibit federally-funded international nonprofits from providing abortions in other countries. “There’s no legislation with regards to abortion that I’m familiar with that would become part of my agenda,” the GOP presidential candidate told The Des Moines Register’s editorial board during a meeting today before his campaign rally at a Van Meter farm.” Oct.9 2012

Anrea Saul, spokesperson on Romney’s abortion comment to DMR: Rom “wld of course support legislation aimed at providing greater protections for life.” Oct. 9, 2012

For a timeline of Governor Romney’s various positions click here. (with video)

Comments Off on Windsock Mitt: What Choice? Multiple Choice?

Filed under 2012 election, abortion, Politics, Romney, Women's Issues, Womens' Rights

Comments are closed.