It’s Official: Democrats Control Nevada Legislature

Well, sort of…but the Nevada Legislature posts a roster of newly elected members of the state Senate and Assembly.   Assemblyman Kelvin Atkinson (D-LV) moves from the Assembly to Senate District 4; Aaron Ford (D-LV) represents Senate District 11; Justin Jones (D-LV) represents Senate District 9; Tick Segerbloom (D-LV) moves from the Assembly to represent Senate District 3; Debbie Smith (D-Washoe) former Assemblywoman now represents Senate District 13.  Patricia Spearman (D-LV) now represents Senate District 1; and, former State Senator Joyce Woodhouse (D-LV) regains a seat in the Senate representing District 5.

Republicans needed to win five seats in the state Senate to control that legislative body, but could only secure three of them.  The election had similar results for the Nevada state Assembly, which will also remain in Democratic hands.

“The results ensure that both the 21-member Senate and the 42-member Assembly will remain in control of Democrats in the 2013 session, requiring GOP Gov. Brian Sandoval to work with the opposing party in both houses to push through his education reform agenda in the 2013 legislative session.” [NNB]

… and every other agenda he might have had in mind as well.

State Senate District 15 will be represented by Greg Brower who eked out a narrow victory over Democrat Sheila Leslie.  [NVSoS] Brower has been closely associated with the ultra-right wing ALEC, one of the key organizations associated with vote suppression legislation and other radical right model legislation.

Democrat Dina Titus took Congressional District 1 in a 63.53% to 31.58% shellacking of Republican Chris Edwards.  Unsurprisingly, Republican Mark Amodei won the 2nd District race; and, Joe Heck retained his seat in the 3rd District in a closer race, 50.40% to 47.84%.  Nevada sends Stephen Horsford (D) as its representative from the new 4th District.  [NVSoS]  DB will be watching the antics of incumbent Senator Dean Heller, and Rep. Joe Heck as the 113th session of the US Congress begins.


Filed under 2012 election, Nevada politics

3 responses to “It’s Official: Democrats Control Nevada Legislature

  1. Such a disappointment that Heller won over Berkley. Ads from Heller NEVER suggested anything that he accomplished while in Congress. Berkley had to spend so much time defending herself. Maybe she should have gone a bit more down and dirty (but truthful) about Heller’s lack of support for any jobs bills that had been all but drowned in GOP crap, making it impossible to bring anything before all of the members of the House of Representatives.

    Berkley should have won; what did we as Democrats do wrong? It wasn’t women; so why did men vote for this guy instead of the candidate of substance?

  2. I am also disappointed in that result. However, Heller has good name recognition in Washoe County, and I’m prepared to guess that while the Obama drew strong Democratic support in that area, Rep. Berkley couldn’t make up the numbers in the rural areas to offset Heller voters in the Reno MSA.

    • This is my thought as well. Further, I think she thought she would be able to win it with Clark alone. This was a mistake. She should have spent more time up here, but she was close to invisible. That is was so close tells me if she’d made a better effort up north, she would have pulled it off.